Secretary Foxx Announces 10 New Members to FAA Management Advisory Council

U.S. Secretary of Transportation Anthony Foxx today appointed 10 new members to the Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) Management Advisory Council (MAC). The council advises the FAA on management, policy, spending and regulatory matters.

The 10 new members are: Steve Alterman, president, Cargo Airline Association; Bill Ayer, former chairman, Alaska Air Group; Montie Brewer, former president and CEO, Air Canada; Ray Conner, vice chairman, The Boeing Co., and president and CEO, Boeing Commercial Airplanes; Craig Fuller, president, the Fuller Co. and former president, Aircraft Owners and Pilots Association (AOPA); Jane Garvey, Meridiam Infrastructure/MITRE board member and former FAA administrator; Mayor Michael Hancock, City of Denver, Colo.; Lee Moak, president, Air Line Pilots Association (ALPA); John “Jack” Potter, president and CEO, Metropolitan Washington Airports Authority (MWAA); and, Gwynne Shotwell, president and COO, Space X.

“These established aviation leaders will help guide the FAA in its many critical air-transportation policy decisions, supporting our commitment to a first class aviation system,” said Secretary Foxx. “These proven aviation experts will be lending their knowledge to help advance the nation’s air travel system as the safest and most efficient in the world.”

Created by the Federal Aviation Reauthorization Act of 1996, the MAC meets quarterly to assess and advise the FAA on carrying out its aviation safety and air travel efficiency mission. The panel members serve three-year terms in a volunteer capacity and retain their private sector positions.

“We are at a pivotal time in both the FAA and the aviation industry. These new MAC members will provide essential guidance and input as the FAA moves forward with NextGen and makes critical decisions about the future,” said FAA Administrator Michael Huerta.

By law the MAC has 13 members. The new appointments join the three incumbent council members: Department of Transportation Acting Deputy Secretary Victor Mendez; Department of Defense Brig. Gen. Steven M Shepro; and Paul Rinaldi, president, National Air Traffic Controllers Association (NATCA).
Source / Author: FAA