Civil news

Raytheon awards scholarships to 40 FIRST® Robotics competitors

Raytheon Company (NYSE: RTN) today announced the recipients of the 2013 Raytheon-FIRST® Robotics Scholarship. The program awards 40 individual scholarships of $1,000 each to FIRST (For Inspiration and Recognition of Science and Technology) alumni pursuing undergraduate education as math, science, engineering or technology majors. The 40 recipients are high school seniors or full-time college freshmen, sophomores or juniors who participated in a FIRST Robotics Competition or were a member of a FIRST Tech Challenge team.

Raytheon is a longstanding supporter of the FIRST Robotics Competition and Tech Challenge – international robotics competitions for middle and high school students. Raytheon sponsors about 30 teams each year. A Raytheon-sponsored team from Huntsville, Ala., won the FIRST Tech Challenge in May 2013. The company has offered the Raytheon-FIRST Robotics Scholarship since 2003; to date the program has disbursed $400,000 in scholarship money.

This year’s recipients are:

  • Kushal Agarwal of Corvallis, Ore., attending California Institute of Technology
  • Alexander Bair of Van Wert, Ohio, attending Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology
  • Asya Bergal of Iowa City, Iowa, attending Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Dean Brandon of Tacoma, Wash., attending the University of Idaho
  • Pamela Brigleb of Ossining, N.Y., attending the University of Virginia
  • David Czajkowski of Madison, Wis., attending the University of Wisconsin-Madison
  • Evan Doyle of Andover, Mass., attending Yale University
  • Erik Ersland of Eagle, Idaho, attending Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • John Gee of Port Lavaca, Texas, attending Harvard College
  • Michael Graham of Richmond, Mich., attending Kettering University
  • Timothy Hackett of Phoenixville, Pa., attending Penn State University
  • Ryan Humble of Marietta, Ga., attending Yale University
  • Andrew Hunt of Milwaukie, Ore., attending Princeton University
  • Matthew Induni of Hayden, Idaho, attending Stanford University
  • Nicholas Induni of Hayden, Idaho, attending Harvard College
  • Zach Jasensky of Bethlehem, Conn., attending Worcester Polytechnic Institute
  • Mitchell Johnson of Flower Mound, Texas, attending University of Texas at Austin
  • Tiffney Kitiratanasumpun of Saint Petersburg, Fla., attending Northeastern University
  • Julia Kudryashev of Cockeysville, Md., attending Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • David Larson of Silverton, Ore., attending University of Washington
  • David Long of Golden, Colo., attending the Colorado School of Mines
  • Jenna Malley of Woodcliff Lake, N.J., attending Northeastern University
  • Joshua Mangelson of Provo, Utah, attending Brigham Young University
  • Chase Manny of Ijamsville, Md., attending University of Maryland, College Park
  • Casey Martin of Broomfield, Colo., attending Purdue University
  • Taylor McCorkill of Chesapeake, Va., attending Virginia Commonwealth University
  • Elizabeth Miranda of Vienna, Va., attending University of Michigan
  • Zachary Morgan of Horn Lake, Miss., attending University of Mississippi
  • Dakota Nelson of Rapid City, S.D., attending Franklin W. Olin College of Engineering
  • Brittany Palac of Conshohocken, Pa., attending Robert Morris University
  • Boris Perkhounkov of Iowa City, Iowa, attending Stanford University
  • Peter Price of Falls Church, Va., attending Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
  • Steve Rofrano of Flemington, N.J., attending Yale University
  • Ethan Ryan of Excelsior, Minn., attending University of Northwestern-St. Paul
  • Richelle Smith of Los Altos, Calif., attending University of Southern California
  • Richard Souleles of Santa Barbara, Calif., attending University of California, Los Angeles
  • James Williams of North Andover, Mass., attending University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
  • Marisa Witcpalek of Clarkston, Mich., attending University of Michigan
  • Zachary Zagorski of Oceanside, N.Y., attending Brown University
  • Andrew Zeller of Green Bay, Wis., attending University of Alabama

The application process for the 2014 Raytheon-FIRST Scholarship will open April 1, 2014. For more information about the Raytheon-FIRST Scholarship Program, including eligibility and submission requirements, please visit www.mathmovesu.com or www.facebook.com/MathMovesU.

Source / Author: Raytheon

Autor: Redakcja Świat

Redakcja Świat