ICAO Assembly Elects New Council for Three-year Term

The 38th Session of the Assembly of the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) completed the election of its new Council today. The 36-Member Council is the governing body of the Organization and is elected for a three-year term.

The election process was divided into three parts, with the following States elected:

​(States of chief importance in air transport) – Australia*, Brazil*, Canada*, China*, France*, Germany*, Italy*, Japan*, Russian Federation*, United Kingdom* and the United States*.

​(States which make the largest contribution to the provision of facilities for international civil air navigation) – Argentina*, Egypt*, India*, Mexico*, Nigeria*, Norway, Portugal, Saudi Arabia*, Singapore*, South Africa*, Spain* and Venezuela.

​(States ensuring geographic representation) – Bolivia, Burkina Faso*, Cameroon*, Chile, Dominican Republic, Kenya, Libya, Malaysia*, Nicaragua, Poland, Republic of Korea*, United Arab Emirates* and United Republic of Tanzania.

*Indicates re-election.

Source / Author: ICAO